Bookmark and Share Email this page Email Print this page Print Feed Feed

2012 NSHOF Induction

Aug 21, 2012


The National Sailing Center & Hall of Fame (NSHOF) announced the 2012 inductees last week, on August 15th, after a two-month review from a judgement committee comprised of: representatives from the national governing body, sailing media, sailing industry, community sailing, a maritime museum, NSHOF founding clubs and the 2011 inductees. 

The eligible inductees are American citizens aged 45 years-old and up and must have made a "significant impact on the growth and development of the sport in the US in the categories of Sailing, Technical/Design, and Contributor (coach, administrator, sailing media)". 

2012 inductees included: Navigator Stan Honey of Palo Alto, Calif.; yacht designer Bruce Kirby, Rowayton, Conn.; '88 Olympic silver medalist, Volvo Ocean Race-winning skipper and America's cup tactician John Kostecki of Reno, Nev.; and three-time Olympic medalist/two-time Star World Champion Mark Reynolds of San Diego, Calif. Posthumous Inductees included: Peter Barret (Madison, Wisc.); Bob Bavier (New Rochelle, NY); Gregg Bemis (Boston, Mass.); Rod Stevens (New York, NY); and John Cox Stevens (New York, NY).  Further information about the posthumous honors, NSHOF, and the 2012 Induction can be found in the official NSHOF press release.

Edit Module

Add your comment: